Isaias’ maximum sustained winds up to 85 mph as it makes landfall

Hurricane Isaias

Isaias has made landfall as a Category 1 hurricane, according to the National Hurricane Center.

Follow the storm with the FOX8 Hurricane Tracker here


As of the 11 p.m. Monday advisory, the storm is about 50 miles southwest of Wilmington. It is heading north-northeast at 22 mph.

The storm has maximum sustained winds of 85 mph.

Monday night, the eye of Isaias is forecasted to move inland over eastern North Carolina, when it will begin to weaken.

The storm will then continue along the East Coast’s mid-Atlantic states on Tuesday and the northeastern states Tuesday night.

A Storm Surge Warning is in effect for:
– South Santee River, South Carolina, to Cape Fear
– Pamlico and Albemarle Sounds, including the Neuse and Pamlico Rivers
– Oregon Inlet to the North Carolina/Virginia border

A Storm Surge Watch is in effect for Cape Fear to Ocracoke Inlet.

A Hurricane Warning is in effect for South Santee River, South Carolina, to Surf City.

A Tropical Storm Warning is in effect for:
– North of Surf City to Eastport, Maine
– Pamlico and Albemarle Sounds
– Chesapeake Bay
– Tidal Potomac River
– Delaware Bay
– Long Island and Long Island Sound
– Martha’s Vineyard, Nantucket, and Block Island

A Tropical Storm Watch is in effect for north of Stonington to Eastport, Maine

President Trump approves NC emergency declaration ahead of Isaias making landfall along East Coast

President Donald Trump approved North Carolina’s emergency declaration ahead of Tropical Storm Isaias making landfall along the East Coast, according to a statement from the White House.

The full statement is provided below:

Today, President Donald J. Trump declared that an emergency exists in the State of North Carolina and ordered Federal assistance to supplement State, tribal, and local response efforts due to the emergency conditions resulting from Hurricane Isaias beginning on July 31, 2020, and continuing.
The President’s action authorizes the Department of Homeland Security, Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), to coordinate all disaster relief efforts which have the purpose of alleviating the hardship and suffering caused by the emergency on the local population, and to provide appropriate assistance for required emergency measures, authorized under Title V of the Stafford Act, to save lives and to protect property and public health and safety, and to lessen or avert the threat of a catastrophe.
Public Assistance Category B emergency protective measures, limited to direct Federal assistance and reimbursement for mass care including evacuation and shelter support, will be provided for the counties of Beaufort, Bertie, Brunswick, Camden, Carteret, Chowan, Craven, Currituck, Dare, Duplin, Gates, Hertford, Hyde, Jones, Lenoir, Martin, New Hanover, Onslow, Pamlico, Pasquotank, Pender, Perquimans, Pitt, Tyrrell, and Washington.
Public Assistance Category B emergency protective measures, limited to direct Federal assistance, will be provided for the counties of Alamance, Alexander, Alleghany, Anson, Ashe, Avery, Bladen, Buncombe, Burke, Cabarrus, Caldwell, Caswell, Catawba, Chatham, Cherokee, Clay, Cleveland, Columbus, Cumberland, Davidson, Davie, Durham, Edgecombe, Forsyth, Franklin, Gaston, Graham, Granville, Greene, Guilford, Halifax, Harnett, Haywood, Henderson, Hoke, Iredell, Jackson, Johnston, Lee, Lincoln, Macon, Madison, McDowell, Mecklenburg, Mitchell, Montgomery, Moore, Nash, Northampton, Orange, Person, Polk, Randolph, Richmond, Robeson, Rockingham, Rowan, Rutherford, Sampson, Scotland, Stanly, Stokes, Surry, Swain, Transylvania, Union, Vance, Wake, Warren, Watauga, Wayne, Wilkes, Wilson, Yadkin, and Yancey and the Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians.
Pete Gaynor, Administrator, FEMA, Department of Homeland Security, named Elizabeth Turner as the Federal Coordinating Officer for Federal recovery operations in the affected areas.  

Must-See Stories

More Must-See Stories

Latest Weather News


Follow FOX8 on Twitter