Johnson attempting to tie Petty, Earnhardt with 7 championships

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.
Data pix.

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. -- When you think of the NASCAR greats, names like Richard Petty and the late Dale Earnhardt, Sr. probably come to mind.

Those two men are tied with the most NASCAR championships in the history of the sport -- seven.

But one man is hoping to make it a three-way tie by the time this season is over.

Jimmy Johnson, winner of the championship from 2006-2010 as well as in 2013, is sitting on six with eyes on a seventh.

The only other active driver anywhere close to Petty, Earnhardt and Johnson is Jeff Gordan -- with four championships, though none since 2001 -- and he hinted recently that he may retire if he wins his fifth this season.

Must-See Stories

More Must-See Stories


Follow FOX8 on Twitter