Raleigh mayor Nancy McFarlane wins re-election

Vote Here sign (WGHP)

Vote Here sign (WGHP)

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

RALIEGH, N.C. — Raleigh Mayor Nancy McFarlane has won a second term in office, according to WTVD-TV.

Unofficial results show she easily overcame challenges from Venita Peyton and Robert Weltzin.

“I’m just looking forward so much to the next two years. Raleigh is in a great position to move forward,” McFarlane said, according to WTVD-TV.

McFarlane said there are many new companies coming to town and the city has a new manager. She said she is enthusiastic of things to come.

McFarlane’s victory Tuesday came as many other cities selected candidates for the Nov. 5 election.

Greensboro City Councilwoman Nancy Vaughan led Mayor Robbie Perkins in a primary to select two candidates for the general election. The two meet again next month.

In Durham, Mayor Bill Bell was seeking a seventh term against two other candidates — Sylvester Williams and Michael Paul Valentine.

Cary residents voted to fill three open town council seats. Ed Yerha faced no challengers in the Council At Large seat.

In Fayetteville, voters were choosing a new mayor among five candidates — Val Applewhite, Nat Robertson, Kirk deViere, Charles Ragan and Paul Williams.

Read more: WTVD-TV

Must-See Stories

More Must-See Stories


Follow FOX8 on Twitter