New Forsyth Co. commissioners to be sworn in Monday night

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

WINSTON-SALEM, N.C. — The Forsyth County Board of Commissioners will get two new commissioners today, according to the Winston-Salem Journal.

Ted Kaplan and Don Martin are to be sworn in at the board’s 6 p.m. meeting, along with current board members Walter Marshall and Everette Witherspoon, who won re-election this year.

The board will still have a Republican majority, but it will see a leftward shift. It is losing staunch conservatives Bill Whiteheart and Mark Baker.

Kaplan, a Democrat, defeated Whiteheart in the general election. Martin defeated Baker in the Republican primary. During the campaign, Martin described himself as more moderate than Baker.

The board will also select a chairman and vice chairman tonight. Richard Linville has been the chairman since December 2010. Gloria Whisenhunt has been the vice chairwoman since December 2012.

Toby Bost, Beth Tucker and Wes Schollander will also be administered the oath of office tonight for Soil and Water Conservation District supervisor.

A reception will follow the meeting. The meeting and reception will take place at the Forsyth County Government Center, at 201 N. Chestnut Street.

Must-See Stories

More Must-See Stories


Follow FOX8 on Twitter