Here’s how senators and representatives voted on the House Bill 2 repeal bill


DURHAM, NC – MAY 10: Gender neutral signs are posted in the 21C Museum Hotel public restrooms on May 10, 2016 in Durham, North Carolina. Debate over transgender bathroom access spreads nationwide as the U.S. Department of Justice countersues North Carolina Governor Pat McCrory from enforcing the provisions of House Bill 2 that dictate what […]

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

RALEIGH, N.C. — The House Bill 2 repeal bill passed in both the House and Senate and has now been signed by Gov. Roy Cooper.

The bill passed in the House 70-48 at about 1:35 p.m. Thursday.

The new bill, titled HB 142, leaves regulation of bathrooms solely in control of the state and cities and local governments can’t pass their own anti-discrimination laws until December 2020.

The Senate voted 32-16 in favor of the repeal around 11:30 a.m. after the North Carolina Senate Rules and Operation Committee voted the deal to repeal House Bill 2 as favorable earlier Thursday morning.

Gov. Roy Cooper commented on the repeal Wednesday evening, saying it could help “repair” the state’s reputation.

Phil Berger and Tim Moore also released a statement on the repeal, calling it a “compromise.”

Here is how Piedmont Triad members of the House and Senate voted on the repeal:



John Blust (R) Guilford

Justin Burr (R) Montgomery

John Faircloth (R) Guilford

Edward Hanes (D) Forsyth

John Hardister (R) Guilford

Donny Lambeth (R) Forsyth

Dennis Riddell (R) Alamance

Stephen Ross (R) Alamance

Sarah Stevens (R) Surry, Wilkes

Evelyn Terry (D) Forsyth

Sam Watford (R) Davidson

Lee Zachary (R) Wilkes, Yadkin


Cecil Brockman (D) Guilford

Deborah Conrad (R) Forsyth

Jeffrey Elmore (R) Wilkes

Kyle Hall (R) Rockingam, Stokes

Pricey Harrison (D) Guilford

Julie Howard (R) Davie, Forsyth

Pat Hurley (R) Randolph

Bert Jones (R) Caswell, Rockingham

Allen McNeill (R) Randolph

Larry Potts (R) Davidson

Amos Quick (D) Guilford



Phil Berger (R) Guilford, Rockingham

Cathy Dunn (R) Davidson, Montgomery

Rick Gunn (R) Alamance, Randolph

Joyce Krawiec (R) Forsyth, Yadkin

Paul Lowe Jr. (D) Forsyth

Gladys Robinson (D) Guilford

Jerry Tillman (R) Randolph

Trudy Wade (R) Guilford


Andrew Brock (R) Davie

Shirley Randleman (R) Stokes, Surry, Wilkes

Must-See Stories

More Must-See Stories


Follow FOX8 on Twitter