Greg Olsen among NFL Man of Year nominees


Greg Olsen (Photo by Streeter Lecka/Getty Images)

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

CHARLOTTE, N.C. — Carolina Panthers tight end Greg Olsen is among 32 nominees for the Walter Payton Man of the Year award, according to

“NFL players are outstanding, generous men of character who give back to their communities,” said NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell. “Walter Payton represented the very best on and off the field and this year’s Man of the Year nominees exemplify his legacy of philanthropy and leadership. We are proud to support players as they use their platforms to drive positive change.”


Whoever wins the award will have a total of $500,000 donated in their name, with $250,000 going to a charity of his choice and $250,000 supporting the expansion of Character Playbook across all NFL markets.

On the field, Olsen has been one of the NFL’s most productive tight ends, finishing the 2016 season with 80 receptions for 1,073 yards and three touchdowns.

Olsen posted about being a nominee Thursday afternoon.

The post read, in part, “It is a pleasure to serve our wonderful community and we are very thankful for the tremendous support you have showed our family and foundation. We look forward to bigger things to come.”

Finalists are announced in January during halftime of the AFC championship game and the winner will be announced at the NFL Awards on Feb. 3.

The nominees include:

  • Arizona Cardinals – Patrick Peterson
  • Atlanta Falcons – Ben Garland
  • Baltimore Ravens – Benjamin Watson
  • Buffalo Bills – Lorenzo Alexander
  • Carolina Panthers – Greg Olsen
  • Chicago Bears – Sam Acho
  • Cincinnati Bengals – Michael Johnson
  • Cleveland Browns – Randall Telfer
  • Dallas Cowboys – Travis Frederick
  • Denver Broncos – Chris Harris Jr.
  • Detroit Lions – Haloti Ngata
  • Green Bay Packers – Clay Matthews
  • Houston Texans – J.J. Watt
  • Indianapolis Colts – Darius Butler
  • Jacksonville Jaguars – Malik Jackson
  • Kansas City Chiefs – Alex Smith
  • Los Angeles Chargers – Casey Hayward
  • Los Angeles Rams – Rodger Saffold
  • Miami Dolphins – Kenny Stills
  • Minnesota Vikings – Kyle Rudolph
  • New England Patriots – Nate Solder
  • New Orleans Saints – Cameron Jordan
  • New York Giants – Mark Herzlich
  • New York Jets – Quincy Enunwa
  • Oakland Raiders – Bruce Irvin
  • Philadelphia Eagles – Malcolm Jenkins
  • Pittsburgh Steelers – Cameron Heyward
  • San Francisco 49ers – Bradley Pinion
  • Seattle Seahawks – Michael Bennett
  • Tennessee Titans – Wesley Woodyard
  • Tampa Bay Buccaneers – Clinton McDonald
  • Washington Redskins – Nick Sundberg

Must-See Stories

More Must-See Stories


Follow FOX8 on Twitter