5 new laws that will affect NC DMV customers beginning July 1


(Credit: North Carolina DMV)

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.
Data pix.

RALEIGH, N.C. -- Five new laws affecting the N.C. Division of Motor Vehicles are set to go into affect on July 1, a news release from the Department of Transportation states.

Vehicle owners will be issued a late fee if they allow their vehicle registration to expire. The 15 day grace-period that prevents an officer from issuing a motorist with an expired tag will continue, but $15 fines will be issued instantly. After a month, the fine will grow to $20 and at two months the late fee will increase to $25.

In addition, the 28,000 registered moped owners in North Carolina must carry liability insurance. Those who don't provide the DMV proof of their insurance will have their license plates instantly revoked.

Lien holders and individuals financing motor vehicles must record information about the security interest of the vehicle to an electronic lien system.

Permanently disabled drivers won't have to renew their windshield disability placards every five years. Motorists certified by a physician as being totally and permanently disabled will no longer have to renew it. A disability determination by the U.S. Department of Veteran Affairs may also be used for medical certification and re-certification requirements for handicap parking placards as well.

Franchise vehicle dealers can receive loaner vehicle plates for $200 to customers who need repair work done on their own vehicles. The plate will become mandatory on Dec. 31, 2018.

Must-See Stories

More Must-See Stories


Follow FOX8 on Twitter