Newest models shift Hurricane Matthew slightly east, show later arrival

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Hurricane Matthew is expected to impact North Carolina on Saturday, but the latest models from the National Hurricane Center have shifted slightly east off the coast.

The newest models also have the storm slowing down some. The North Carolina coast will likely begin feeling the impact of Hurricane Matthew on Friday night, according to the latest models. The center of the storm is projected to be near the southeast North Carolina coastline on Saturday evening.


On Monday, Gov. Pat McCrory declared a state of emergency for 66 counties in North Carolina, including those in the immediate Piedmont Triad area.

Hurricane Matthew pounded western Haiti and eastern Cuba Tuesday, packing powerful winds and heavy rain.

As of Tuesday at 11 p.m., Matthew, a Category 4 storm, had sustained winds of 130 mph.

On Tuesday evening Hyde County issued a mandatory evacuation for Ocracoke Island.

South Carolina Gov. Nikki Haley announced Tuesday afternoon that all coastal communities are being evacuated at least 100 miles inland Wednesday.

Florida Gov. Rick Scott on Monday declared a state of emergency warning residents there could be "massive destruction" if Matthew directly impacts Florida. He urged everyone to start preparing by stocking up on water and food, and by charging cell phones.



The state of emergency area in North Carolina is Alamance, Anson, Beaufort, Bertie, Bladen, Brunswick, Camden, Carteret, Caswell, Chatham, Chowan, Columbus, Craven, Cumberland, Currituck, Dare, Davidson, Davie, Duplin, Durham, Edgecombe, Forsyth, Franklin, Gates, Granville, Greene, Guilford, Halifax, Harnett, Hertford, Hoke, Hyde, Johnston, Jones, Lee, Lenoir, Martin, Montgomery, Moore, Nash, New Hanover, Northampton, Onslow, Orange, Pamlico, Pasquotank, Pender, Perquimans, Person, Pitt, Randolph, Richmond, Robeson, Rockingham, Sampson, Scotland, Stokes, Surry, Tyrrell, Vance, Wake, Warren, Washington, Wayne, Wilson and Yadkin counties.