10 facts you may not know about Rockingham County schools

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

FILE PHOTO: Rockingham County Schools Superintendent Rodney Shotwell, North Carolina 2015 Superintendent of the Year, visits 2nd graders at Leaksville Spray Elementary School, on Wednesday, December 10, 2014, in Eden, N.C. (JOSEPH RODRIGUEZ/News & Record)

ROCKINGHAM COUNTY, N.C. — Beginning in January, North Carolina educators began celebrating 175 years of public education. In Rockingham County, that anniversary is even more special, according to the Greensboro News & Record.

It was Jan. 20, 1840, when George W. Garrett opened the state’s first public school in the southeastern portion of Rockingham County.
Today, the Rockingham County school system is made up of 25 schools and 13,200 students.

Here are 10 facts about the school system you may not know:

1. The Garrett Academy was the state’s first public school. Today, it is now known as Williamsburg Elementary School and is located in Reidsville. Led by Principal Gary Pyrtle, the school has around 500 students.

Read full story: The Greensboro News & Record