Obama administration orders aid for NC after summer rains

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

WASHINGTON — President Obama has declared a major disaster for 13 counties and the Eastern Bank of Cherokee Indians after heavy summer rains, making the area eligible for federal aid, according to WSOC.

Obama ordered federal aid to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the area affected by heavy rains during the July 3–13 period.

Federal funding is available to state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe storms, flooding, landslides and mudslides in the counties of Alleghany, Ashe, Avery, Buncombe, Burke, Caldwell, Jackson, Macon, Madison, Mitchell, Polk, Watauga and Yancey and the Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians.

Source: WSOC