Mayodan chosen for Small Town Main Street program

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Town of Mayodan (Mayodan Facebook page)

MAYODAN, N.C. — Mayodan is among six N.C. towns selected to participate in the N.C. Small Town Main Street program.

The towns were chosen from 18 nominations, bringing the total number of communities participating in the program to 50.

Participating communities receive two years of concentrated, monthly on-site technical services from the Small Town Main Street staff. Following the initial two-year period, communities may choose to continue in the program, receiving more limited services on an as-needed basis.

“Small towns across North Carolina continue to lead by example,” N.C. Secretary of Commerce Sharon Decker said in a statement. “By incorporating a blend of arts and cultural amenities into our towns, we will continue to provide a vibrant Main Street setting for emerging business leaders and active citizens.”

Other N.C. towns picked for the Small Town Main Street program this year are Belhaven, Hayesville, Marshville, Robersonville and Valdese.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.