Jimmie Johnson wins 7th NASCAR championship; ties Earnhardt, Petty

Jimmie Johnson

HOMESTEAD, Fla. — Jimmie Johnson won his seventh NASCAR championship on Sunday at Homestead, tying Dale Earnhardt Sr. and Richard Petty for the most championships in NASCAR history.

Johnson won for the first time at Homestead, one of only four current Sprint Cup Series tracks where Johnson had never won.

Johnson won five NASCAR championships in a row from 2006-2010, winning his sixth in 2013.