Abby Wambach wins FIFA player of year award

Abby Wambach claimed her first FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year award at the FIFA Ballon d’Or Gala held at the Zurich Kongresshaus.

Wambach led the US to its fourth Olympic gold medal in London after defeating the Japanese team in the final and thus exacting revenge for the FIFA Women’s World Cup final the previous year, which Japan won for the first time in their history.

Wambach is the first U.S. player to win the award since Mia Hamm in 2002. She barely edged out teammate Alex Morgan for the top honor.

Read more:

Filed in: Sports

Suggest a correction

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 77,070 other followers