Leaders in NC governor-elect McCrory’s transition team announced

Pat McCrory

RALEIGH, N.C. — A list of key leaders on North Carolina Gov.-elect Pat McCrory’s transition team announced Thursday:

_ John Lassiter, chairman of transition operations oversight. Former Charlotte city council member and Charlotte-Mecklenburg school board member and mayoral candidate.

_ Ed McMahan, co-chairman of transition operations oversight. Chief executive of Charlotte architectural firm and former N.C. House member and Republican National Committee member.

_ Art Pope, co-chairman of transition operations oversight. Chief executive of Variety Wholesalers Inc., head of John William Pope Foundation and former state House member from Raleigh.

_ Mike Smith, co-chairman of transition operations oversight. President of Kane Realty Corp. in Raleigh.

_ Johnathan Rhyne, transition general counsel. Former House minority leader, attorney at Lincolnton law firm.

_ Thomas Stith, transition director. Leader at Frank Hawkins Kenan Institute of Private Enterprise at UNC-Chapel Hill and former Durham City Council member.

_ John Baldwin, deputy transition director. Chief of staff for Labor Commissioner Cherie Berry since 2001, former chief of staff to then-House Speaker Harold Brubaker.

_ Kelly Nicholson, policy director. UNC Health Care System executive, former senior policy adviser to state Senate leader Phil Berger.

_ Tony Almeida, economic development director. Retired Duke Energy Corp. executive.

Other senior advisers or honorary team members include Republican former Govs. Jim Holshouser and Jim Martin; ex-Lt. Gov. Jim Gardner; former U.S. Rep. Charles Taylor; ex-House Speaker Joe Mavretic; McCrory campaign adviser Jack Hawke; Former Ambassador Aldona Wos; and B&C Associates chief exeutive Robert Brown.

Credit: The Associated Press.

Filed in: News

Suggest a correction

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 80,071 other followers