Freeze Warning issued for counties in the Piedmont Triad

Posted on: 4:18 pm, November 1, 2012, by , updated on: 05:34pm, November 1, 2012

Freeze Warning

RALEIGH, N.C. – The National Weather Service has issued a Freeze Warning for central North Carolina for early Friday morning.

According to the NWS, the warning will be in effect from 2 a.m. to 8 a.m.  and is expected to impact rural and low-lying areas. Temperatures are expected to range between 29 to 34 degrees in some areas.

Due to the sub-freezing temperatures forecasters warn the cooler temperatures could kill crops and other sensitive vegetation.

Counties impacted include: Alamance, Anson, Chatham, Cumberland, Davidson, Durham, Edgecombe , Forsyth, Franklin, Granville, Guilford, Halifax, Harnett, Hoke, Johnston, Lee, Montgomery, Moore, Nash, Oranges, Person, Randolph, Richmond, Sampson, Scotland, Stanly, Vance, Wake, Warren, Wayne and Wilson counties.

FOX8 on Instagram

Follow FOX8 on Instagram