Gov. Perdue issues State of Emergency for Eastern NC

RALEIGH, N.C. — Gov. Beverly Perdue has declared a state of emergency for 33 counties in eastern North Carolina ahead of Hurricane Sandy.

Effective Saturday the state of emergency includes Beaufort, Bertie, Bladen, Brunswick, Camden, Carteret, Chowan, Columbus, Craven, Cumberland, Currituck, Dare, Duplin, Edgecombe, Gates, Greene, Halifax, Harnett, Hertford, Hoke, Hyde, Johnston, Jones, Lenoir, Martin, Nash, New Hanover, Onslow, Pamlico, Pasquotank, Pender, Perquimans, Pitt, Robeson, Sampson, Tyrrell, Washington and Wayne counties.

According to the governor’s office, the proclamation authorizes officials to respond more effectively to the emergency by authorizing additional state government resources to assist county and municipal governments says the governor’s office.

National Weather Service issued a Tropical Storm Watch for most of the state’s coast on Friday morning urging residents to begin making preparations ahead of the storm.

“I urge all North Carolinians to keep a watchful eye on Hurricane Sandy and monitor the storm’s track. This is an unusual storm and the path it may take is uncertain,” said Gov. Perdue in a press release.

The N.C. Department of Transportation warns of possible flooding of coastal roadways due to high water and heavy rains and are making preparations.

As of 2 p.m., the National Hurricane Center placed the center of Sandy about 430 miles south-southeast of Charleston, S.C.

Officials expect Sandy to affect the state through Tuesday.

Filed in: News, Weather

Suggest a correction

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 80,066 other followers